EA economic model: RR3 vs Simpsons Tapped Out

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Pelanglo

Pro/Am
EA economic model: RR3 vs Simpsons Tapped Out

I started playing The Simpsons Tapped Out (tsto), also an EA 'freemium' game, this week due to boredom with RR3. If you've not looked at it, it's a sort of city-building game in which you create your own version of Springfield with characters and structures from the TV show that you purchase with currency you receive when you complete tasks.  

Interestingly, the economic model is almost identical to that of RR3. In tsto, when you complete tasks, you get "dollars" and XP, the tsto equivalent of Fame. Just like Service and Upgrades in RR3, every task has a time associated with it in tsto, ranging from a minute to 24 hours. You can wait, or you can spend precious donuts to finish them instantly. But for most people, that's not going to be an option, because as far as I can see, you only earn donuts when you level up. There is no equivalent, for example, of completion bonuses. Worse, when you level up, you only get 1 or 2 donuts. 

That's why I'm at level 10 of 41 (maybe 10% through the game?) and I have 28 donuts. What can I buy with my donuts? Some examples: 

• Planter Box of Flowers: 10
  • Dumpster: 10
  • Apple Tree: 15
  • Duff Brewery: 190
  • Frinks Lab: 150
  • Lard Lad Donuts: 110
  • Barney's Bowlarama: 250

Obviously, I am never going to be able to purchase more than a few pathetic items like dumpsters with the donuts I'll earn in the game.  Hard as it might be to believe, it is far harder to acquire donuts in tsto than it is to acquire Gold in RR3. Of course, just like in RR3, you can buy the scarce currency from the store, where pricing is as shocking and puzzling as in RR3, with the  biggest purchase (2400 donuts) available for only (you guessed it) $99.99.